​I am by no means a caffeine junkie, and I’d much rather go with green tea rather than black sugar-free cup of coffee… For the loads of caffeine benefits, anyway.

So imagine me with a full mug of green tea, right before a “long day”.

Having got in late and made plans for the next day: my eldest daughter and I would crank up five nice songs and do a dance routine, for workout purposes early at our rooftop and head on to begin the day. I’d reply to texts and emails, do my mommy duties, and not too long after that, drift off back to bed.

Alas! My eyes shot open, burning and tired. Morning already. I was jittery and agitated, as I often am when I have an early wake-up call. I had overslept! I couldn’t believe I hadn’t heard the phone call. I tore off the covers, got dressed, and reached for a hot huge mug of green tea, and well, sipped it down, all the while burning my tongue along the way.

Just then I noticed the alarm clock on the bedside table that said 3:04 a.m. Sheepishly, I looked down at the now empty mug in my hand and thought, WHAT HAVE I DONE? I laid back down in bed and thought of the two very important presentations I would need to do later that morning. I really needed some sleep before that. I closed my eyes but could already feel the caffeine quickening my pulse. Needless to say, no amount of “counting sheep” would knock me out after that.

I wonder if this isn’t an appropriate and unfortunate picture of what so often sets us back in our attempts to live our God-given lives.

I am sure you have the best of intentions. You want to do what is right. If you aren’t making forward progress, it is probably not for lack of trying. If you’re an entrepreneur, maybe you already spend loads of time networking, attend loads of seminars, and never miss an important meeting that could change EVERYTHING for you.

Perhaps the problem isn’t what you aren’t doing, but what you are consuming. The problem we must face is that, what you allow in your soul could be what keeps you in a state of arrested development. Close the computer, cancel your cable, walk out of the movie, delete the contact from your phone, change cities, or quit your job if you have to. Do something drastic to your procrastination, or procrastination will do something drastic to you. What you feed on you’ll be full of.

Take some time to ask yourself – what are you consuming that you need to step away from?

Remember: Perhaps the problem isn’t what you aren’t doing, but what you are consuming.

#YouArePossible #IAmPossible #LetsBePossibleTogether and live phenomenally and faithfully

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.