42d261208e0c50de41374f4ab37efba3It’s day 12 of our 30-day December personal development challenge dubbed the #PM30DayChallenge, and since it’s #MotivationMonday, let me speak to those I can relate to at present – my fellow chronic “illnessers” on how to get motivated to achieve daily goals despite our new reality.

Knowing exactly what you want to accomplish despite your illness is important.

As the year draws to a close, many people have been dealt tough blows throughout the year including diagnoses of chronic illnesses and a sense of despair fills your every breath right now. There’s no coming back from that one, I should know. But it’s not the end of the world even though it might feel that way at the moment. It’s okay to feel that way. Just don’t let it drive your life. Be the driver.

See, when you’re chronically ill, there’s no “getting well soon”, and most people don’t get that. And that’s okay. That said, the mini-issues that come with one’s condition can deplete them of physical, mental, emotional and even spiritual energy to “fight back”. The motivation to live a decent life dies a natural death.

a11e80212790dc49c1aeedd53350f68d“Hmmmm I really want to wash my hair, but I don’t feel motivated today. I mean, what are the consequences, really? I work from home!” Now this is my “normal”, most of the time.

Nonetheless, I still manage to offer you, my devoted phenomenal clan, daily tips and techniques to help you craft an incredible life beyond the odds. Yes! I know you can.

Feeling de-motivated to do every day life?

1. Have dates with yourself to do things like… wash your hair.😄

2. Do not postpone a previously scheduled task for when you’re “feeling better”, unless it’s a really bad day.

For me, it’s even worse when I have to get the motivation to play with my kids or do some paperwork or even watch a nice movie they know I’d like.

I have chronic fatigue, anxiety and depression, none of which is treated well enough to get around the motivation issue. How do I make myself do things? Sometimes I may tell myself, “Just do it”, and instead lie here browsing the net or starring at the ceiling.

vigo-lite_phase-4_inclusion_10x7-print_option-1-002_2_001.jpgIf you’re going through the same issue, I hear ya, babe. It’s not always easy to get motivated. But I’ve got some ideas for you that I hope will help:

1. Get Treatment

First, let’s address the mini-issues that make getting to do life the normal way hectic – chronic fatigue, anxiety and depression, none of which is treated well enough to get around the motivation issue.

As someone who also has a condition that causes fatigue—and someone who lives with anxiety and depression—I know I can’t just say “get those treated.” But dear reader, if you feel like you’re not getting the treatment you need, you’ve got to step up and work for it.

Chronic fatigue, anxiety and depression are all going to feed into your lack of motivation. So if you feel like you’re not getting the treatment you need and deserve, I implore you to seek more effective approaches for those. That’s a good starting point.

2. Get Clear

images-14Knowing exactly what you want to accomplish despite your illness is important. Something that may seem trivial to most, such as washing your hair (today), is very important. Talk about daily goals. Check my article titled “Yes, you’re ill, but your dreams aren’t”. You’ll understand what I mean.

Be clear about your daily goals, or else a sense of despair will seize the day! Having a vague idea of what needs to be accomplished like; “I want to get more done” or “I want to have a richer social life,” isn’t enough. Any chronic illness may cause a serious case of social isolation. So it’s time to get clear about what you want to achieve, even against the odds.

4. Do the Truth Pages

Take a few minutes to write down a list of precisely what you wish to get done, especially those things you do not feel motivated enough to do.

For instance: Do you want to be able to work an extra hour each day? Do you want to be able to take a 20-minute walk every evening or wake up early to do your yoga?

Get specific. It’s easier to achieve our goals when we know precisely what they are.

5. Focus on Benefits – What’s in it for you?

Next, focus in on how you will benefit if you accomplish the specific goals you’re targeting.

staff-awards-advertorial-mva-fund-page-001If you wash your hair, you’ll feel more pretty and more human, less like a sicko. If you work an extra hour each day in your home-based business, you’ll have enough money to take a summer vacation. If you take a 20-minute walk each evening or do your yoga early each morning, you’ll get in your doctor-recommended cardio, and you’ll feel more in touch with nature, which will help you feel more calm and less depressed. Doing the “truth pages” helps you “release” whatever you’re holding onto – resentment, bitterness and anger towards healthy people or those you blame for your condition.

The “truth pages” will help you heal your mind and soul through forgiving and letting go of negative energy, which will in turn help you heal your body, even though the illness might never leave your system.

Get clear about how you’ll benefit; this ALWAYS helps motivate me.

6. Know the Consequences

Also, get clear about the consequences of NOT meeting the goal for which you’re seeking motivation.

img_20160925_060138.jpgIf you don’t wash your hair, you’ll feel frumpy and won’t want to leave the house, which will in turn keep you socially isolated. If you don’t work the extra hour each day, your vacation next summer will be a stay-cation. If you don’t take a 20-minute walk or do yoga, you will be in more pain or experience extreme fatigue, which will in turn alter the quality of your every day life.

Plus, without regular exercises, you won’t either be able to build body muscles if you’re losing weight or reduce as much body fat as possible, if you’re gaining weight. And soon, without regular exercises, you won’t fit into your favorite jeans! Oh, and you’ll also miss out on the enjoyment of watching nature evolve with the changing seasons. Disastrous!

I prefer to get motivated by the POSITIVE benefits of accomplishing my goals, but sometimes the potential NEGATIVE consequences are also motivational. Because I want to fit into those jeans!

7. Look Outside Yourself

If you’re really struggling to find motivation within yourself, think about the people and pets around you who will benefit if you get motivated to meet your goals. Your kids, your dog, your spouse, your friends, your co-workers or clients.

37b0d5fb022aa956eaef0646af4a9344When I feel extra stuck, or really depressed, it sometimes helps me to think about my children. I want to be there for them for as long as possible; be a reliable source of strength and guidance, and I can’t do that if I don’t take care of myself. That is some major motivation.

I also get motivated by the knowledge that all of YOU are part of this journey – journey that began before all this chronic stuff, but one that was birthed out pain and.a will to live the best life we can despite the odds.

Sometimes you guys send me little reminders—I’m wearing jewelry today that fellow “Phenomenal Woman” made for me, plus my cute IAmPossible grey tank top—that keeps me motivated – they remind me why giving up is not an option. (Thank you!)

Looking outside yourself can sometimes give you that extra motivational boost you need.

Also, when people in your life see you working for something, they’re more likely to help you achieve your goal, and be motivated to pursue their big dreams too!

Ultimately, however, motivation has to come from you.

If you don’t want it bad enough for yourself, you can’t expect others to help you achieve your goal.

Do you agree? If you do, give me a thumbs-up down here.

I would love to hear how you find motivation, phenomenal ladies! Share your strategy in the comments here to join the conversation—I want to hear what YOU have to say.

If you liked what you read today, subscribe to our women’s network via e-mail  (e-mail me if you want in) — and watch another one of my favorite videos right now (Search for #PM30DayChallenge Day 12 on Facebook). I think you’re gonna like it!😉

Now go ye into the world and kick ass! #YouArePossible #IAmPossible #LetsBePossibleTogether

Leave a Reply

