Image result for be better than you were yesterdaySo today was supposed to be about life-hacks and how to earn more income, and then it changed when I offered up my seat to an equally pretty woman 15 minutes ago (I’m at Mugg & Bean – Town Square) after she read a text out loud and broke into tears.

In a nutshell, her partner of four years with whom she has a toddler, suddenly broke up with her…via text message (who does that, right?) and now wants her to move out as soon as possible 😦

And then came the uncontrollable crying and coming to terms with stuff, and then back to the crying again, and repeat on rotation… So horrible!! I don’t even know this woman but I feel her pain!

She’s just left, which is why I’m now writing all this to you, and the saddest part was hearing them whisper back, “thank you”, to me as she left as if she knew I was fully aware of her situation. Which of course I was, even though I tried to pretend I wasn’t there 😦

And now of course there’s no way I can go back to writing about achieving big dreams when a fellow woman’s just got crushed in front of me – that would just be so callous and wrong… Who cares about that stuff when people are hurting around you, right? Isn’t the point of it all to LIVE A BETTER LIFE, anyway? Without that it’s gone?!

staff-awards-advertorial-mva-fund-page-001(Okay, well not really – I know it’s still important and we need to manage it for our own selves and blah blah blah – but allow me to be dramatic for a bit and I promise it’ll get more lighthearted as we go here ;-))

As I was left to my table to contemplate it all, I was immediately reminded of one of my favorite quotes by one Sidney Poitier:

“I always wanted to be someone better the next day
than I was the day before.”

My friend Honorine used to have this at the bottom of her emails, and every time I saw it, I was left inspired to push myself harder that day. It’s a helluva thing to strive for, but one we often forget.

And it can be taken in many different directions too:

  • to be a better person in general (i.e. help your neighbors)
  • to be a better person to YOURSELF (you count as a “neighbor!”)
  • to be your best at your profession and to those you serve (i.e. your clients)
  • to be better to the environment and your local community
  • and of course, because many things do relate to money, to be a better steward of your finances

So before we get into the end of the week, let’s try doing at least one of these things to better help US become better today than we were yesterday.

vigo-lite_phase-4_inclusion_10x7-print_option-1-002_2_001.jpgAnd if you already do one of these daily, then double up and do TWO so you outperform your already angelic self 😉 Here’s a list of 19 ideas:

  1. Offer up your seat to a stranger today (you never know what they’re dealing with!)
  2. Ask a colleague at work if there’s anything you can do to help out (we rarely do this because we’re all so busy, but imagine how thankful they’d be for such a nice gesture!)
  3. Start a budget (in previous post)
  4. Get rid of one toxic relationship
  5. Pay for the coffee/lunch/beer of the person behind you (random acts of kindness are the best!!)
  6. Write a real-life letter to someone, using cursive and all (don’t you dare say you don’t know what cursive is, you millennials!)
  7. Call your mom and dad and tell them you love them!!!
  8. Clear the leaves/snow off your neighbor’s yard?img_20160925_060138.jpg
  9. Fold the laundry or do the dishes or cook dinner, or do whatever else your significant other does but before they get to it. (When they look shocked, just press your fingers to their lips and say “Shhhhh…” – Dumb & Dumber style)
  10. Pay someone a compliment! The bolder, the better (“Your eyes are so pretty!”, “Wow you have a great heart,” “You totally made my day better – can I have your number?” (oops, wrong mission))
  11. Spend an extra 15 minutes with a client or friend
  12. Pay off a percentage of your debt
  13. Make a promise to finally work on ending a bad habit
  14. Say sorry for something even though it wasn’t your fault
  15. Let people cut in front of you without muttering curse words/branding a certain phalange
  16. Teach someone about money/life/a skill you have (how to get out of debt faster? How to set S.M.A.R.T. goals? How to properly make a bed? (This would help with #9 ;))
  17. Eat one less donut/chocolate cake/beer this weekend!
  18. Pick up a few pieces of trash in your neighborhood
  19. Give me someone N$5.00 who needs it more than you

We can’t be perfect every day, but we can surely try a little harder if we’re fortunate enough to even have the opportunity (i.e. we’re still alive).

Image result for be better than you were yesterdayI have no idea how my new friends are coping right now, or when they’ll get back to “normal” again, but I’d like to think they’d at least enjoy knowing their loved one has sparked some good action to be made.

It’s a helluva reminder of what’s truly important in this world, that’s for sure…

And that reminder is simple: each other. 

What can you do to be better than you were yesterday? DO share!

 

Leave a Reply

