vigo-lite_phase-4_inclusion_10x7-print_option-1-002_2_001

1. Keep your car tidy, too

As women, and mothers, we obsess over keeping our homes clean, but often end up with untidy cars, whisking daily life away using the biggest excuse in the world – kids!

I love this hack and so does my sister who is obsessed with keeping her car clean at all times! Gotta love her!

Tip: Convert a plastic cereal dispenser into a trash receptacle for your car. Fill with refuse and recyclables while you’re driving, then sort or dispose of materials when you return home.

Remove splinters sans tears!

So spring’s here and that means summer’s just a breeze away; and here is a great summer tip that may save your little ones a few tears. My eight-year-old daughter comes home every other week teary about a sore finger tip due to splinters and needs them removed but never wants me to remove them with a pair of tweezers or a needle. So after enough online boggle, I’ve come up with a splinter-proof trick that leaves me feeling like a super-mom – Bostik glue, from my daughter’s stationary case! Who knew!

Tip: Just pour a drop of Bostik glue all over the splinter, let it dry, and then peel it off the skin. The splinter sticks to the glue when you peel it off! How cool is that? 🙂

 3. Freezer-Friendly Peanut Butter & Jelly Sandwiches

Have I shared with you how much peanut butter I consume? I eat peanut butter in literally anything edible – I cook chicken with it, I make sandwiches with it by substituting it for butter or jelly and the list goes on (my family even find the things I do with peanut butter, almost gross…lol). So when I found this hack via moneysavingmom.com, I went gaga!

Tip: For this hack, for the sake of staying within the topic, you’ll need:

  • Bread
  • Peanut Butter
  • Jelly

Make peanut butter and jelly sandwiches.

To freeze: Cut and put in baggies (if desired) and store in airtight freezer zip-top bags in the freezer for 4-6 weeks.

To thaw: Stick frozen sandwiches in sack lunches in the morning and they will be thawed by lunch time. Or, you can be weird like me and eat them straight from the freezer. You can also warm them in the oven or microwave if you like your sandwiches warmed.

4. Organize outfits a week ahead, especially kids’

This is by far my best mom tip for dealing with the chaos of a busy week, especially now that schools have resumed for the most hectic quarter of the school calendar. I know I’m not the only one who has this headache, though.

Let’s just say that getting out of the house on time for me has always been a struggle even before I had children – what with deciding what to wear, 20 minutes to a meeting. I found that preparation and organization were my best friends when it came to being on time, especially with three kids. As a mother, they’ve moved from BF’s to BFF’s.  😉

What works best for me is choosing all of their outfits for the week on Sunday night, disregarding the fact that I loath clouding my weekends with chores.

Tip: That said, I have a designated spot for their weekly clothes in each of their closets, from school uniforms to inner wear.

You know how a man can look for something in the refrigerator and say he can’t find it because it wasn’t in the very front; then you can come in and find it in half a second because you actually looked for it as opposed to expecting said item to smack you in the face?  Yeah, well, picture three kids in this situation!

I think it’s important when you’re organizing a space for someone else to think about how they will use the area. I know for my eldest kids, if it wasn’t laid out like this, they’d be coming to me every morning wondering which outfit to wear for which day. But it’s a piece of cake with my toddler, so that’s still relatively in control. Relatively is used in this case because there are days my two-year-old wants to choose what to wear to school! My kids are different people so it makes sense that what works best for them would be different too.
Anyhow, our mornings just aren’t as smooth without “the system” :-). And this is just what works for us.
For those of us raising the little fashionistas, here’s my personal note to you:
     My 8-year-old (soon-to-be 9) girl has become quite opinionated. Gone are the days when I could choose whatever and she’d just put it on without protest. She has her own style, and I admire that about her. At the same time, at 6 am I don’t have the time or the patience to deal with the “I don’t want to wear that” routine. I have found our Sunday night ritual to be less stressful as we choose things together, and it’s also become a special bonding time for her and I.  Try it 🙂

5. How to keep a sliced apple fresh till lunch
Sliced Apple

Here is a way to slice an apple and keep it together in a way that will slow down the browning process to allow your child to eat it at lunch.

What to do:

— Slice up the apple.

— Keep all the slices (and core) together and secure with a rubber band.

Sliced AppleKeeping it together with the rubber band will slow the oxidation process which causes an apple to turn brown.

This is also a great idea for picnics, road trips, or just about anytime you need to pack apples to-go. I know you can buy those little bags of apple slices at the store, but I don’t like spending the extra money, because I’m a savings-junkie :-). So this hack will work just as well for just the cost of an apple. 😉

We’ll have another #TriviaTuesday edition next week, sharing life hacks for busy moms. Don’t miss :-)! You’ve got this and God’s you. #YouArePossible

Leave a Reply

