…and for mothers like Mrs. Locke, I let them put it in their own words…

DBN Electricity Fund

Roux-Che the career woman
Roux-Che the career woman

roux-che and zoe

  1. Who is Roux-Che Locke? – I am the proud wife of my handsome husband, Mario Locke; mom to our pigeon-pair, Sascha (our son who turns 14 in just over a month) and Zoé (our 6-year-old daughter). I was born on the 5th December and I am the middle-child of my darling parents, John & Sybil Titus. My siblings are Irvin Titus and Johné Louw. I am the Group External Relations Manager for the Ohlthaver & List (O&L) Group for the past 6 years.

SSC-Employees’ Compensation Fund

  1. What kind of character are you? – I am a happy-by-nature person and have a zest for life. I am optimistic and always look at the brighter side of things. I am straight-forward although speaking the brutal truth can sometimes come back to hit at me. I am curious and have a philosophical bent of mind, always interested in different kinds of subjects with a strong sense of right and wrong. I love helping others in achieving their objectives or simply just making a positive contribution to life. I love adventure and do not shy away from taking risks to keep the excitement alive. And I do have However – as you know “character” also has negative traits – and I have to admit that I am not always very careful about how my actions or speech may affect others.

    Roux-Che and daughter, Zoe
    Roux-Che and daughter, Zoe

  1. As a modern mother, do you still live by, ‘spare the rod, spoil the child’ biblical adage? – As a Christian I believe in disciplining my children firmly but lovingly. Parenthood has its joys but can equally be very tough and challenging since there is no “handbook” or “prescribed manual” that is tried, tested and trusted on “how to raise perfect children”. As such, I believe that parents usually parent in the style they do, not because that’s what’s good for their kids, but rather because that is what is suitable to them, the parents, in that particular moment. I guess the way we react to our children has more to do with us and how we are feeling than with what the kids actually did. If we as adults and parents have solid principles that support us in our ways, we should and will be able to measure the behavior of our children in a predictable and safe way, and respond to inappropriate behavior in ways that don’t undermine our parental authority. It’s pretty simple: who you are is how you’ll parent.
  1. What would you do if your child came home one day to announce that they’re gay, being a public figure and a very spiritual woman? – A very difficult question…I honestly do not know what I’ll do or how I’ll react. But I do think it would be important and extremely crucial for me to focus on my child’s “broken image” versus “sexual activity”. I think his/her attraction to the same sex is secondary as opposed to the primary problem which is a broken or distorted image. What would be even more important is to give him/her what they probably desperately need at that time: undiluted truth, unconditional love, and unceasing prayer.
  1. Is there any such thing as a perfect mom? Why (or why not)? – I don’t think there is a “perfect mom”, but there is a “perfect calling”: God has called us all to a divine purpose in this life, and sometimes the highest, most divine calling of all, is being mom.
  1. How do you manage to balance work, being a wife and motherhood, with regard to religion, work and family (priorities)? – Being rooted in set principles, morals and values allows me to enjoy the different facets of life and in so doing strike a balance although it’s sometimes tough as the demands of life continuously overtakes. Yet, the public remains conflicted about the impact working mothers have on their young children with a certain percentage saying it’s a good thing and the others’ views saying it’s bad.
  1. What does motherhood mean to you as a female leader or rather a woman in a position of power? – As previously mentioned, motherhood – to me – is a divine calling. As such, there is a huge responsibility to honor this calling by – among others – loving unconditionally; teaching and instilling the values of humility, respect and appreciation; and investing in the quality of creating strong leaders with exceptional characteristics and traits.
  1. What kind of legacy would you like to leave your children?
    Roux-Ch
    Roux-Che with her kids, December 2013 holidays

    First and foremost, I would love to leave them a Godly legacy that would last for generations to come. I would like my children to remember me as a truly remarkable but humble woman and mother who had a positive and profound impact in so many ways; someone who through her humble contribution made a difference in their lives, our country and the world.

  1. What do you think the world would look like if all its leaders were female? – I think it could be a little chaotic if all leaders were female – the world needs a good balance of strong women and men to lead. I’m all for gender equality, after all I am mother to a boy and girl: I would want for them both equal opportunities to excel and become successful in life.
  1. What are your thoughts on modern single-motherhood where there’s a likelihood of every form of abuse on the mother and her children? – No single person – whether female or male – and especially children should ever be subjected to any form of violence or abuse. It’s quite simple: if you love and respect yourself enough, you will know if and when it’s time to call it the day.
  1. Which life lessons have you learnt as a mother that have had an impact on who you are as a leader? – I am constantly learning…one of the many valuable lessons I’ve learnt is the power of unconditional love! Yes, I am passionate about having a spirit of generosity and being of service to others – hence I enjoy bringing a smile and happiness to those in need of it.
  1. Do you think Prime Minister, Saara Kuugongelwa-Amadhila, would make a perfect female president for this country one day? Why (or why not)? – Yes, she has the ideal leadership characteristics and qualities to take Namibia and her people to the next level, and with the correct mentorship she would make an ideal female president for our country.
  1. What does a normal week look like for you; kids, work and other commitments?
    Roux-Che and sweet Zoe
    Roux-Che and sweet Zoe

    – Wake-up at 4h30 to get in a quick beauty routine, wake hubby and kids at 5h45, drive children to school and then off to work where I dedicate the next 8 hours to my employer. I am privileged to be part of a company where we balance flexibility thus enabling me to watch my children perform at school events or sport-codes. After a day’s hard work, I’m blessed to be welcomed home where a sumptuous cooked meal prepared by my hubby awaits me, and my children’s happy faces, fun and laughter surround me.

  1. If you had the power to help the less privileged, what would you do with the help of your kids? – Feed and clothe them. Celebrate their birthdays with them in the most special ways; cook them a daily nutritious meal and make them part of the fun while cleaning up the kitchen; provide them with basic necessities and ensuring that every child has access to education. Love them unconditionally.
  1. Roux-Che and hubby, Mario
    Roux-Che and hubby, Mario
  1. Is motherhood celebrated in your organisation? How? Could more be done? How can Government chip in? – Yes, women are always recognized for the role they play in the workplace, society and family. Although there is huge opportunity for Government to take the lead in Africa and beyond to celebrate women and motherhood, I do think they’ve taken a step in the right direction of recognizing the value of women-empowerment by appointing our female leaders in key positions. Of course, it remains a collective effort for us all to ensure that every mother is recognized for the difference and positive impact she makes in the lives of her children, society and the country at large.
  1. If you and Madam Prime Minister, Saara Kuugongelwa-Amadhila, ruled the world, what would it be like? – An empowered, peaceful, educated, loving and caring global nation!
  1. Your message to every mother out there – Whether single, foster, adoptive or married – especially the struggling single moms in abusive relationships they don’t know how to get out of? My message is borrowed from the words of blogger Amy Young: “To those who gave birth this year to their first child – we celebrate with you; To those who lost a child this year – we mourn with you; To those who are in the trenches with little ones every day and wear the badge of food stains – we appreciate you; To those who experienced loss through miscarriage, failed adoptions, or running away – we mourn with you; To those who walk the hard path of infertility, fraught with pokes, prods, tears, and disappointment – we walk with you. Forgive us when we say foolish things. We don’t mean to make this harder than it is.

To those who are foster moms, mentor moms, and spiritual moms – we need you; To those who have warm and close relationships with your children – we celebrate with you; To those who have disappointment, heart ache, and distance with your children – we sit with you; To those who lost their mothers this year – we grieve with you; To those who experienced abuse at the hands of your own mother or lover – we acknowledge your experience.

To those who lived through driving tests, medical tests, and the overall testing of motherhood – we are better for having you in our midst; To those who have aborted children – we remember them and you on this day; To those who are single and long to be married and mothering your own children – we mourn that life has not turned out the way you longed for it to be; To those who step-parent – we walk with you on these complex paths.

To those who envisioned lavishing love on grandchildren – yet that dream is not to be, we grieve with you; To those who will have emptier nests in the upcoming year – we grieve and rejoice with you; To those who placed children up for adoption — we commend you for your selflessness and remember how you hold that child in your heart; And to those who are pregnant with new life, both expected and surprising – we anticipate with you!

This Mother’s Day, we walk with you. Mothering is not for the faint at heart and we have real warriors in our midst. We remember you.

2 thoughts on “Motherhood is not for the faint at heart – Roux-Che Locke

Leave a Reply

